Talk to an Advisor

877.822.9526

Send an Email

Screenshots

active_collab_dashboardactive_collab_invoices_overviewactive_collab_project_viewactive_collab_time_tracking

Video

Product Quick Facts

Industry Specialties
All Industries
Pricing
Average
Works Best For
Any Sized Businesses

About Active Collab

Since 2007, Active Collab has helped over 10,000 businesses and organizations manage their projects and team collaborations. Designed to service large or small businesses in a variety of industries, this project management software offers scalabale solutions via the cloud or self-hosted to fit your exact business needs. 

Task management, project collaboration, time tracking, and invoicing – all in one easy tool. Active Collab helps you: 
  • Stay organized with an advanced to-do list and track your projects
  • Work efficiently together with your team to deliver top-notch results 
  • Track every minute of your work and bill clients accordingly 
  • Easily issue invoices for your work, save time, and get paid

Team collaboration is made easy with Active Collab’s team hub feature. It improves and streamlines internal communication between users with its task delegation, file sharing, and instant chat features. Active Collab also has strict permission-based roles, so members can invite clients to join the board without revealing private information or tasks. The Timeline feature lets users view all projects to see progress and completion dates from one dashboard, and the built-in templates help save valuable project time. Active Collab provides assistance with every step in the project lifecycle, from negotiating new projects to invoicing clients after project completion. Instant assignment creation and mass task editing options aid in the task management of large projects, while the time tracking function helps with maintaining finances and staying on budget. With the calendar feature, custom calendars can be made for each team member as well as for each team as a whole, so the team can always know what one another is working on.  Both the cloud-based and self-hosted plans include unlimited projects and clients, SSL encryption, daily backups, and free support via email, chat, or phone.

Not quite what you’re looking for? Review more collaborative Project Management software options here, or if you’d prefer, call, click, or email to speak with an unbiased Technology Advisor for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation on your unique requirements. 

(Last updated on 03/21/2016)

Active Collab User Reviews

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review

Matt R.

YGS


Ok product with plugins TERRIBLE SUPPORT!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 12, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Its not bad to use as a user especially with a few plugins to make it function like a project management software because out of the box it is severely lacking features for reporting and easy time logging

What could be improved about this product?

SUPPORT Is abysmal. Overall performance is fairly slow as an admin user. The out of the box feature set is fairly limited in reporting and time logging.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

TERRIBLE SUPPORT. they will ignore you for days, and do not provide adequate information in their support communications. They deleted our paid plugins without telling us then said they “fixed” them. Our system has been down for a week and they don’t respond to email or phone calls. You can’t call the support team. Overall any money you save with this solution will be lost in bug resolution.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

project management tools for managing projects.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

0/10

Dave G.

Genesis Development


Best all-around collaboration

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 1, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Excellent feature set with very nice and efficient ui/ux. Very flexible and suitable for managing a wide variety of projects. Outstanding support! Document versioning with different source code repos. Before settling on activeCollab, I did an in-depth survey of all the major project management and collaboration tools out there, comparing features and pricing, and aC still gives the most bang for the buck (or Euro, or whatever).

What could be improved about this product?

Would really like to see some workflow controls. Some better support ticketing features would be great too. Some tasks require cron file editing (self-hosting) and it would be nice if there was a built-in tool for that, though understand why that might be problematic.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Really can’t think of anything other than if I would really use it.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We use activeCollab for all aspects of software research and development, marketing and support.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Michael H.

Hucke Media GmbH & Co. KG


Great with slight pitfalls in Analysis/Reporting

Overall4
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
4 Reviewed on November 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Great overall application for PM, Ticketsystem, Documentation, Collaboration

What could be improved about this product?

1. Reporting
3. Export for external Reporting Tools

Problem is that Queries for reports on accumulated hours are not really satisfying. There are tools even for invoicing, but doing invoicing for lots of project one a month shows that filtering and exporting features are not optimal.

We are using the hosted/SAAS Version. It’s possible to do everything with export/reporting on the self hosted Version. But we like the idea of using SAAS and find it a sad pitfall

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Good overall solution. The mixup of PM tool and ticket system makes sense for us.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Project management and Ticket system. We develop Websites and implement ERP System Odoo/OpenERP

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Andrey T.

Scopos Hospitality Group


Best Project Management and Collaboration Solution in the Market!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Self-hosting option, as a fast growing company adding new employees/users we don’t have to be concerned about increased plan costs. We feel we have full control of what and how the system works for us.

What could be improved about this product?

Templates need to be enhanced to include Notebooks. Tasks when editing, ability to select notifications to other team members rather than just having having the option of assigning the task to them. When creating a notebook entry – ability to create a task – or link to a task.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Learning a new platform – but the system has a very user friendly interface, it takes minutes to show a new employee around, and they can grasp the concept very quickly.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Running at-least 3 dozen projects simultaneously – multiple client requests coming in – need to be prioritized, organized, recorded and assigned to team members with deadlines. All project data gets recorded in notebooks (have a master project template that have pre-determined Notebooks where the data needs to be saved). It’s all about having information organized and and available at your fingertips – ActiveCollab allows us to do all of that in one platform!!!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Firebrand L.

Firebrand Media, LLC


Great for managing large and small projects

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

The ability to manage all aspects of a project – tasks, milestones, files, time and expenses make this an invaluable tool.

What could be improved about this product?

It would be nice to be able to create proposals within ActiveCollab. Invoicing functionality is a part of the core feature set but some functionality similar to QuoteRobot would be great.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The upfront cost. The initial expense was a concern but there is now a “cloud” version for those that would prefer to go month-to-month (a la Basecamp).

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I was looking for a way to manage all of my projects. The ability to give access to clients / collaborators for specific projects was also a problem to be solved. ActiveCollab has done a great job solving both of those issues.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Jayden L.

Sidekick


Perfect for a web agency

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Active Collab’s simplicity makes it very easy to learn and teach others to use.

What could be improved about this product?

The general user interface is currently a little out-dated and bloated. However, ActiveCollab always seem to improve and I hear that v5 that is coming in early 2015 will be amazing. I really can\\\’t wait for this.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The price, however it is actually one of the fairest priced tools of its kind, and ActiveCollab updated their pricing structure earlier in 2014 so that many of the premium features are now included to all account levels. I was very happy with that.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Managing website design projects with multiple designers and developers in multiple countries. Because of ActiveCollab\’s simplicity, it makes it easy for us all to collaborate and communicate on many projects at once.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Charlie K.

J-Town Internet Services Ltd.


A Solid Choice

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

ActiveCollab has most of the features we were looking for and allows us to install it on our server without being dependent on a third party or paying monthly fees.

What could be improved about this product?

It would be nice to see it develop a CRM with segmented mailing lists. Product templates should include all aspects of a product. Currently they do not include Notebooks which is a flaw. We would like to see a much better notifications similar to Google calendar, with options of email, pop-ups and SMS and options of when to receive them so when a subtask is due or the day before or when it is overdue, etc. anyone in that task or project could be notified as they want, when they want.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Our main concern was ongoing support and development but after over three years using the product, we are very satisfied.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

The use of project templates allows us to work much more efficiently since we have many types of the same product. Assigning subtasks to a specific person with a date due is essential.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Aleksandar D.

DevSerbia Ltd


Great product

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

What I like the most is easy of use, great user experience, and support.

What could be improved about this product?

There was some minor issues with GIT integration in past. I think that is much improved in v5.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The main concern was migrating all existing data from OpenSourced solution we have used in past.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are managing a lot of different projects, and ActiveCollab is the app we are using for communication with our clients.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Adeel I.


Great Customer Support

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 17, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

If some one can ask me which the best customer support service I would named only ActiveCollab


Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review.