Get answers to your technology questions now

615.610.1770
Product Quick Facts
Pricing
High-end
Works Best For
Enterprise Businesses

About Tableau

Tableau is a software company that is focused on providing solutions that effectively allow people to see and understand data. By presenting data through software that uses the latest technologies, Tableau aims to assist their clients in using data to solve their problems. Ultimately, the company’s goal is to make big data accessible to ordinary people. The company caters to both individuals and businesses. 24/7 customer support allows you constant access for your support needs.

Tableau offers three main products that analyze big data: Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, and Tableau Online. Tableau Desktop is designed to allow anyone to analyze and understand big data intuitively. The software is easy to use because it allows users to create interactive dashboards and drag-and-drop features to develop data visualizations. Even though the software is dealing with big data, it is still designed to be faster than other big data solutions. For businesses, Tableau offers Tableau Server, a browser-based analytics application that provides all of the big data advantages of Tableau Desktop. This version of the software is specifically designed to allow businesspeople to quickly find and organize data. Finally, Tableau Online acts as the hosted version of Tableau Server. This option provides maximum security so that businesses can confidently share data.

eBay, a leading E-commerce site, is one company that relies on Tableau’s data analytics platform to uncover business insights. eBay generates over five terabytes of data a day, and needed a way to easily explore and visualize these sets in-house. After implementing Tableau, they’ve been able to gain deeper insight into customer habits, and have now licensed the software for every one of their employees.

Not sure if Tableau is the best Business Intelligence system for your company? Check out our comparison between it and another top solution, Tableau vs Spotfire, or call, click, or email to speak with an unbiased Technology Advisor for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation on your unique requirements. 

(Last updated on 03/21/2016)

Screenshots


MarkMailTableauPublictableaudash3tableaudashboard2tableaudashboard4

Tableau User Reviews

Average User Rating

5 star:
6
4 star:
0
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
0

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review


JLM


Cohesive Data Visualization

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on August 27, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Tableau is precise, elegant, and engaging! With todays innovative markets and competitive practices – It is necessary to gain prime insights into rapid changing and developmental phases. The intelligence software is highly functonal and easy to instruct teams of 20 and more.


James M.


Tableau is a complete data visualization solution with endless capabilities.

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on July 25, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

When it comes to data visualization, nothing I’ve used yet in my career can touch Tableau in terms of power, features, ease of use and data connection services. It is a complete solution that is able to integrate with almost any data type or source imaginable, with relative ease for any organization with moderate knowledge in the area. One that data is in the system; the capabilities have proved to be endless. At my organization we’ve used Tableau’s basic visualization capabilities to create visualizations in a few clicks that would take much longer in any other software. This is possible without much difficulty and most analysts can pick up the tools basic and intuitive features easily. However, the as we’ve developed our skills, we’ve managed to take advantage of the real power of the tool, which is a little more complex, but well worth the learning. The learning curve is a little steeper, but once you’ve mastered custom calculations, filtering, parameters and advanced dashboard formatting, essentially anything can be done in Tableau. New ways to use the engine are always being developed by power users, and one of the best things about the tool is that the support website, training opportunities and incredible support forums are the best I’ve seen. If I need to know how to manipulate an important custom calculation, I can post to the forums and get a solution within the hour. Overall, Tableau provides the platform to take our analytics to a higher level by giving the ability to easily integrate multiple data sources, automate and recreate reports easily, and follow visualization best practices while customizing to an audience. Pros – Easy for beginners but incredibly powerful for more experienced users – Huge range of data connectivity is supported – Great improvements to Dashboard formatting from previous versions – Custom calculations make almost anything possible – Top notch training and support website Cons – Full capabilities not realized until being used with Tableau Server – Learning curve can be greater for more advanced features


Tim M.


Need to visualize data? Look no further.

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on July 14, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Tableau Desktop is easy to use and provides powerful mapping and charting abilities. It would be great to have more mapping options, specifically web or spider maps. While manipulating data within the program is easy for the most part, some fields must be in the proper format to be read correctly. Tableau is used by my organization to uncover data trends from a variety of scientific literature databases. The powerful abilities to map data, chart trends, and the recent addition of word clouds, is invaluable to quickly determining what is being done in the world. Being able to quickly and easily filter data allows users to delve deeper into specific areas of interest, yet not lose the bigger picture. The trends and analysis Tableau produces has been instrumental in determining how multi-million dollar budgets are being directed and allocated. Another great feature is the ability to produce Tableau workbooks in Desktop, and then send that file to users with users with the free version, Tableau Reader. Users can utilize Reader to view the file, and apply the filters that the creator included. This has been extremely useful for allowing clients to manipulate and explore the data on their own, without the cost and learning time of using the full version of the software. Pros Ease of use. It is extremely easy to drag and drop fields and create a quick dashboard in minutes. After loading data, you can quickly adjust fields to figure out which formats offer the best insights into your data.?Powerful mapping and charting abilities. There are a wide variety of options available for displaying data, from geographic maps, heat maps, word bubbles, line graphs, bar charts, histogram, bubble chart, scatter plots, area chart, pie charts, etc.?Customization. With the simple click of a button, you can adjust the colors, sizes, text, and formats of your worksheets. This is especially useful when comparing information on multiple levels of detail, from geographic region, to company type, etc. Its also a great way to customize your reports for you customer, and utilize their specific color scheme. Cons – There are a few things Tableau could do better, I would like to see even more mapping options, including web or spider maps. I have clients who would be very interested in that view of data, however tableau does not currently offer an easy way to represent the data accordingly.?It is very easy to add data into Tableau, and for the most part easy to manipulate data within the program, however some fields must be in the proper format to be read correctly. For example, date fields must be in the excel data format (ex:36892 is the value for 1/1/2001), and it will not just read a 4 digit year as a year. Its not the hardest thing to deal with, but can be frustrating needing to return to the original data source to modify date values.


LaTauya F.


Intuitive BI Tool

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on July 8, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

I love the fact that disparate data sources (e.g Excel, SQL Server, SharePoint, Oracle, etc) can be joined into a single dashboard or visualization. Tableau is an intuitive tool that removes the inherent complexities of understanding SQL for business users. Technical users who develop in SQL can build POWERFUL tools; taking complex joins to the next level. Tableau elevates your data into actionable intelligence. I have taken several canned reports developed in Excel or SQL Server and presented them in tandem with a Tableau version of the same report. Analysts and business users are in awe each time I demo their data in Tableau. The sample vizes are great, but when you show a user THEIR DATA in Tableau, it changes the game.


Jared K.


Tableau is both process, and result

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 7, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

For me, Tableau isn’t just how I present data to the end audience — it’s also how I come to understand the data myself. Best part is, as I’m going through that discovery process, I’m building and designing the tools and views that’ll eventually make up my finished product. So, Tableau is both the end product, and the process, for me. It fits the way my brain works, and I can’t imagine trying to do data analysis without it. I’m a big fan, and frankly it sometimes seems to me as if the folks that criticize Tableau the most do so, at least in part, because they feel Tableau is too egalitarian. There’s nothing wrong with easy. Also – a note on pricing – I gave Tableau 5 stars because I enjoy using the public (free) version of the software. So, if you plan on buying Tableau desktop, you’re looking at an entirely different animal, and my price review would not be applicable.


Anthony C.


Quick BI Tool for Users with no Patience

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 7, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Tableau is very easy to pick up for users with no technical expertise. This is due to the drag and drop interface which really caters to intuition. Right clicking usually solves what issues you have, which may range from formatting to calculation changes. Tableau picks up Excel files very quickly and helps a beginning user do complex joins while automating the SQL behind the scenes. Updating reports is also very simple as you can update the underlying Excel file and hit “Refresh”. Simple joins and simple calculations translate to a quick and clean report. If your requirements need more complex joins, Tableau does some weird join mechanics and you need to really understand your data to see why the joins may fail at times. If you have questions, Tableau forums have a lot of support and questions posted daily. If you have an issue, someone else probably had it too at some point. They also hold conferences once a year that are helpful for users of all levels


Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review.


Product Quick Facts
Pricing
High-end
Works Best For
Enterprise Businesses

Screenshots


MarkMailTableauPublictableaudash3tableaudashboard2tableaudashboard4

Video