Talk to an Advisor

877.822.9526

Send an Email

Screenshots

salsa-connect_-_welcome_seriessalsa-tablet-formsalsa-dashboard-analytics-mainsalsa-visualize-insights-1

Video

Product Quick Facts

Industry Specialties
Non-Profit / Public Sector
Pricing
Average
Works Best For
Any Sized Businesses

About Salsa CRM

Salsa CRM is constituent management software that helps nonprofits build rich donor profiles, track donations and interactions, create direct mail appeals, and report on all development activities. Salsa CRM’s constituent engagement and management platform lets nonprofits of all shapes and sizes communicate across channels including email, social, mobile, direct mail, and face-to-face. 

Salsa CRM features include donor cultivation, processing of all gift types, direct mail, built in word processing, mail merge, event/auction management, grant management, task reminders, member management, volunteer tracking and database permissions and security. A dashboard provides sufficient tools to dive into campaign performance analysis and track performance.

Salsa Engage includes mobile-ready digital marketing tools for email, social and online donation forms. Users can nurture and retain donors with marketing automation functionality that sends triggered emails and automatically adds contacts to new lists based on their behavior or activity. With social media marketing tools, organizations can share updates, publish schedules or post messages on multiple social media platforms. The solution also offers social sharing option to allow supporters share their contributions on their social profiles.

Have questions about Salsa CRM? Want to find out more about nonprofit CRM solutions? Call, click, or email to speak with an unbiased Technology Advisor for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation on your unique requirements. 

 

(Last updated on 03/22/2017)

Salsa CRM User Reviews

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review

Kathleen Q.

Here to Serve


If you are not tech savvy don't buy it!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on August 22, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

Features (if they were easy to use!). I bought this because it was sold as a fully supported platform (phone and email) and the features were what I was looking for. Too bad they are too difficult to use and requires HTML programming to effectively utilize. They are now calling it a “self-serve platform.” Only if you are tech savvy and know HTML.

What could be improved about this product?

This a company in chaos! Constant changes in management and support services. Since December 2015 when I started on the platform I was promised a account manager (never got one); tech support-phone and email (no phone support even through it is in my contract) tech support can take as long as a week to respond to a question or concern (you’d be lucky to get a response within 24 hours!); training (zero on-board training, you are on your own and good luck with that!) and customer service is non-existent EXCEPT when they want to charge you exorbitant rates to help you use their platform they way they sold it to you as features of their software (again here is the need for HTML programming). I have gone through no less than 3 directors of customer support all with varying degrees of commitments to their clients (the current one Jordan is the worst of the three as his only answer to your concerns is to charge you additional costs to use their platform with the features it was sold to you as having).

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I shared numerous concerns including that there be phone support without waiting hours on hold as I had done at eTapestry. Well I don’t wait hours on hold because even though phone support is in my contract, they don’t provide it! It does NOT exist!!! You have to email and good luck getting a timely response. I have waited as long as two weeks and had to follow up with emails reminding them they had not addressed the email I sent. Instead they take on simple one answer emails and and barrage you with emails back asking you if you were satisfied with their response and can they close the ticket. Meanwhile they completely ignore the really complicated support issues or bury them until you BEG them to pay attention to your request. Then they send you complicated email instructions instead of calling you and walking you through the process, which would be infinitely quicker. OR they send you an email telling you it will cost you a hundreds of dollars for them to get the functionality you were promised working in your campaign! This company lacks a good customer customer support mentality, has been through too many management changes and cultures, has not met their contractual commitments, is not service oriented, does not provide phone support, and their software requires a tech-savvy person to use. All of which we concerns I expressed when I first came on board. None of which were met. I was completely misled.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I have yet to see any benefits. I have had more problems then benefits. Even when I do get the attention of tech support the email blasts still go out wrong. They are an embarrassment to our organization! We have 2,200 records but when the blast goes out only 630 go out even though we are blasting to the entire database. I don’t even receive an email to my own email address and I have NO restrictions on my record. This is AFTER working with their support team to ensure that the email blast is done 100% correctly! If it did not cost so much to convert to another software package we would be gone. It eats up so much of my time and the returns are just not worth the time, effort and money we have put into this! One of their set up mistakes (which were not QC’d) was discovered a year later and I have already spent 30 hours correcting records that did not get the correct registration data off their online forms THEY set up! I still have another 60 hours easy to check all the records and fix them! DO NOT BUY this software!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

1/10

Gwendolyn T.

ACHIEVA


Easy to use and great support!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on May 23, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

It’s very easy to get started with this tool. There are a ton of features, and I have yet to unlock it’s full potential! But the best part of Salsa CRM are the people. When I need help, I have personal attention within minutes of sending a request. No generic canned responses here!

What could be improved about this product?

Most features I have found to be intuitive, though there are some things (like processing web donations) that required support to navigate.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was not involved in the purchasing of this software.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Salsa CRM makes it easy to capture donor information and analyze that data later.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Lorelei C.

Age & Gender Equity in the Arts


Essential Software for NonProfits

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on May 8, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

Salsa CRM provides an essential backbone for our organization. It can handle everything from securly storing our donor information to helping us run fundraisers to custom forms and newsletters.

What could be improved about this product?

This product is continuing to grow and I’m excited to see how it continues to develop as we use it. I have no immediate complaints with this product.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

As an organization we had never used software like this before and so we had no real understanding of how it would work or how we would utilize it until we gave it a shot. Our biggest concern was making sure we chose software that we could stick with as our organization grew – but would be cost effect as a smaller, newer organization.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are able to run reports on our donors and donation information so we can have a better idea of how our organization grows over time.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Benjamin B.

Eleonore Rocks Foundation


A terrific platform for online fundraising

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on April 13, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

The simplicity of creating a new campaign each year, guiding team members to create their pages, and how easy it is to promote online.

What could be improved about this product?

I wish my team members could simply “reset” their fundraising pages each year without having to create new ones

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I didnt have any experience with online fundraising at the time

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We’ve raised nearly $175,000 over the past 4 years with only about 25 fundraisers per year.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Sarah L.

Lighthouse Ministries International of Africa


Takes a long time to get up to speed, but has some good online functions through Engage

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on January 13, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

Salsa Engage is fantastic for running online campaigns and measuring success through online activities.

What could be improved about this product?

Better integration between Salsa CRM/ DonorPro and Engage. And more training/ availability to answer questions.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Price too high. Also concerned about the time it would take for conversion and activation of our account. We are 10 months in and still getting basics.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

All in one system with integrated payment processing, donor management, and event management.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Hoffmann H.

Hoffmann


Success with Salsa

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 30, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Reporting, donor and pledge management, cultivation, and event management. Being able to track goal progress. Integration with other applications.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see a mobile application made so that if I’m in the field I could quickly make notes, take donations, and add donor information.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

For a non-profit with a large contact database the expense can be high. Our next challenge will be managing and our database to segment donors

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Tracking donations, increasing engagment with our previous customers and targeting new strategies for future efforts

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Doris P.

Greater Killeen Free Clinic


Salsa CRM/Engage

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 1, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Salsa CRM is extremely intuitive. We have users on many different technical levels and this software has been useful for everyone. I have found that Engage is super easy and has already paid for itself in our first fundraising page!

What could be improved about this product?

I haven’t found an area yet. But, will love that Salsa reps are immediately available to help with product questions.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

No concern, great decision. We looked at multiple different software before choosing. Salsa was our first product we looked at it and we immediately came back.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We just hosted our first ever #GivingTuesday and had a huge success rate.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Kalyn H.

Jericho Foundation


Great Value

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 21, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Salsa is always updating their system which helps nonprofits like us stay on top of the technical trends. This is important as we have limited funds and have to stay efficient.

What could be improved about this product?

Our experience with salsa has been great overall! The biggest challenge was the transition process. We were moving from google drive and several other platforms for ticket sales, emails, etc. so we didn’t have any experience with this. It eventually all worked out and the Salsa team really stepped up to accommodate our needs.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We are a smaller nonprofit moving from google docs and other platforms for management, so this was a big move for us.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We have unified our record keeping. The disparity and inconsistancy is over now that we have a system that can combine several aspects (ticket sales, email, donation management, card processing) and consolidate the information without manual entry!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Megan M.

Metropolitan Family Services


Robust email marketing platform with bonus useful functions

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 21, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The ways both deep and wide to understand and segment our audience

What could be improved about this product?

Would like more back-end flexibility for web pages

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Getting it to talk to Raiser’s Edge. This is something we are still working on, but when we can get information flowing between the two systems the impact our communications and development will be dramatic

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We used to use Constant Contact and iContact, and those didn’t offer much more than “create a list, send it, and see aggregate information on results.” Now we are able to target and, importantly, create a picture of our donors and subscribers to better connect with them.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Jamie R.

ACHIEVA


Wonderful Product

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 21, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Ease of use to enter and query donor information.

What could be improved about this product?

Ability to integrate with other software.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Getting everyone on board to make use of all of the great features.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Salsa CRM lets us quickly and easily get all of the donor information we need to share across our organization.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Benjamin C.

Wild Forests and Fauna


Salsa puts together the right ingredients

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 18, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Salsa simplifies most CRM needs, making the product perfect for medium to smaller grassroots groups. Also, the platform provides the fundraising, donor management and communications products that I need. Also, Salsa support is hands-down the easiest, most responsive group of professionals. If I ever need questions answered, their support people are responsive and produce the solutions I need.

What could be improved about this product?

Though simplified, sometimes SALSA can be a little clunky. They are probably working on an “auto-save” feature but for now, there is a continual saving email behavior required! The WYSIWYG features work pretty well but I think some simplification of coding could make editing a little easier for less technologically skilled staff.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I have been a long-time user of Salsa (6 years) so had little concern about buying the product. The only hesitation was to make sure I would get the most out of the platform but I have confidence in Salsa.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We protect and restore globally important forests and we do this by building conservation and entrepreneurial capacity of partners on the ground. Salsa allows us to better communicate, to fundraise and to track our supporters which allows us to grow our network and fund our critical work. We are much more capable of online fundraising and communicating since we purchased Salsa.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Michele G.

ALS Association Western PA Chapter


Gets the job done!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 16, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

GUI interface is easy to use and easy to install from ProPortal.

What could be improved about this product?

The online version is not as user-friendly, though it’s great in a pinch.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Debra N.

Northwood Foundation


Huge Savings!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 14, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

One of the best things I like about Salsa CRM is it is so easy to use. The savings from switching to Salsa is an added bonus.

What could be improved about this product?

I think there a re a few things that could be improved when it comes to the conversion process. There are some fields that didn’t transfer well from our old database into Salsa CRM which leads to a fair amount of manual work in order to be able to report properly.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Our main concern was making sure we were able to do pretty much everything we were with our old system. With Salsa CRM we are able to do even more!

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

One of the main problems we are solving is our budget. Switching to Salsa has saved us thousands of dollars per year.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Amanda P.

Virginia Organizing


Great so far!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 8, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Integrated solution for fundraising and CRM

What could be improved about this product?

Chapter function (coming) and P2P (also coming)

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We were concerned that it wouldn’t work with some of our existing policies, but it has so far.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Integrating our systems for efficiency and to end double entry.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Dave C.

ACHIEVA


Great Donor Management Tool

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 4, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The ease of use and the friendly staff are just two reasons why I like using the software.

What could be improved about this product?

Really wish it could integrate directly with my fund accounting software but the fund accounting software won’t release the API (not really a Salsa CRM issue) however would like more users to pester the fund accounting firm.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Main concern was will my staff like the tool – it was a smash hit with them when they first had access to it.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

It’s a cost effective tool that better allows us to get the reports we need with the desired results.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Brittany A.

Faithful Friends Animal Society


Love Salsa!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 3, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Salsa is a straight-forward, easy system to use! I love the email marketing system especially. It’s not quirky like other mass email systems I’ve used.

What could be improved about this product?

I would love to see the social media aspect improved. Right now there doesn’t seem to be many benefits to linking your social media accounts to Salsa.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We were worried about how easy it would be to use. We wanted to make sure we were getting the best bang for our dollar.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are able to better communicate our messaging to our donors through mass emails.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review.