Get answers to your technology questions now

615.610.1770
Product Quick Facts
Industry Specialties
All Industries
Pricing
Average

About Namely

Namely is an end-to-end HR, payroll, and benefits platform that, according to Namely (and many satisfied customers), your employees will love. Namely is HR software that employees actually use — built to fit your company culture. Offerings include payroll, benefits administration, a robust HRIS, 360° performance reviews, time off tracking, goals, team planning, reporting, and more. Manage all of your  HR data in one place, with personalized service to help your company get better, faster. Namely is used by some of the world’s most innovative and exciting companies in media, technology, commerce, and more. 

Namely is 100% configurable, allowing the system to scale with and encourage growth. Built into Namely is a powerful permissions engine allowing organizations to create tiered access levels to restrict certain reports, views, and functions from any given division or role within the company. Through these permissions, adaptable templates, customizable formats, and tools that can be switched on or off at any point in time, companies will never be stuck with an outdated process as they add employees or change business goals.

In addition, Namely offers some of the best client support in the industry. Each client has a dedicated Account Manager offering ongoing 24/7 support in using all features within Namely’s platform. In addition, Namely’s Learning Center offers personalized training, How To Guides, and Help Videos. 

We recommend Namely to any company looking to upgrade their HR processes for a reasonable price — we even use it here at TechnologyAdvice!

Want to find out more? Check out more options in our HR Software Product Selection Tool. Got questions? Call, click, or email to speak with an unbiased Technology Advisor for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation on your unique requirements. 

(Last updated on 03/21/2016)

Screenshots


Forbes_screens_03performanceForbes_screens_01homeForbes_screens_07reportsForbes_screens_04calendar

Namely User Reviews

Average User Rating

5 star:
17
4 star:
5
3 star:
1
2 star:
0
1 star:
0

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review


Fatima R.

HyperScience


Excellent HR product

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 24, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

What I love best about Namely is how easy it is to process payroll accurately. The reports feature is also very flexible and easy to use.

What could be improved about this product?

I would love to see the calendar improved. It could be much more useful if it had more customization options. For example, being able to view holidays for offices in other countries would be extremely helpful. I would also love to be able to enter work events that do not show up as “time off.”

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Namely was already active prior to me joining the company however Namely addressed a few concerns with integration, easy payroll processing and benefit administration.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

It is simple to store employee information and update files very quickly. Employees are also able to see how much PTO they have used with just a few clicks.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Janelle S.

Hook Studios LLC


Namely

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 14, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I like most that i’m able to track all employee PTO as well as store all employee sensitive information for both our HR team and employee to review at any time. I also like that Namely displays any birthdays or work anniversaries as well as you can easily link it to Google Calendar.

What could be improved about this product?

As of now Namely has been great as far as feedback, and keeping me up to day with improvements I’ve personally let them know about. For example, I suggested having a section that includes local events. Their staff has been very responsive and let me know personally that they will inform me when they are made aware of any events in my area.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Since the software was purchased prior to me joining Hook I was ready to hop on board. The team loves the program because it is a breast to navigate through.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Namely helps us, the HR team, and employee keep track of PTO and stores information regarding all requests that are made. In addition, Namely allows us to separate employees by team in a tree style format. This makes it easier for employees in other departments to see who I is in what team and position especially if they need to get into contact and work with another person from our staff.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Hilary Y.

Appsential


Innovative organization

Overall4
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
4 Reviewed on June 9, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I like the ability to customize it to your needs. If there is something you would like to do and you cannot figure out how to do it yourself, the Namely support team is quick, efficient, and very friendly!

What could be improved about this product?

Some of the bulk uploading of information into the system doesn’t upload correctly, but its somewhat easy to identify and correct.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

How easy it would be to use. So far, it’s been very easy.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

The performance management portion is great, and the time off requests, and vacation usage diplayed is so helpful!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Katherine O.

Distil Networks


Great for a look at the company as a whole!

Overall4
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
4 Reviewed on May 11, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I use it to see important events happening in our company, the calendar feature is great and helps when we onboard new employees so we can easily reach out to them!

What could be improved about this product?

We have experienced some issues with payroll and insurance section, but the support team has been very helpful

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Onboarding and a one stop shop for all employees

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Onboarding and payroll. We are able to have one system that people can easily log into.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

6/10

Anjali P.

Taulia


Namely is changing HR forever!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on April 19, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The best part of Namely is the on-boarding process. It not only allows me to seamlessly send over on-boarding paper, but it also helps the rest of the company get to know the new hire before they even start by having them fill out their profile completely.

What could be improved about this product?

The only thing I could think of would be having an Android app.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was concerned as to whether or not this would catch on throughout the company and whether or not people would use it. It has definitely caught on and it is visible just by looking at employee’s profiles as well as the main newsfeed.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

It has mainly helped in 2 ways. First, it is a lot less time consuming for our HR Department. It saves so much time! Secondly, it has allowed us to get rid of a lot of our tools.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Angela G.

Taulia


Go Namely!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on April 18, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

It is very simple to use! I love being able to pull and customize all the reports I need.

What could be improved about this product?

I’d love to see integrations with Stock Admin tools.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I think the fact that it is a relatively new company makes people a little worry, but Namely is actually pretty on top of their game!

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We’ve been able to make processes less manual, which has allowed us to save a lot of time!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Shivani K.

Taulia Inc.


Namely has changed my world!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on April 11, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Its easy user interface – makes it easy to and roll out company wide and get the information we need! From an HR standpoint its great to have one source of information and be able to pull all sorts of reports instantly! Hours of time time has been saved after implementing Namely!

What could be improved about this product?

We encounter bugs here and there, but for the most part it is easy to use and is very customizable. Namely is also always improving their features and I look forward to future features being released.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We want to make sure that the software we purchase will be able to scale as we grow!

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Namely has greatly enhanced and automated our internal HR operations from on-boarding, performance reviews, time off, and reports!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Brittney B.

MIND Research Institute


NAMELY

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 14, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

The benefit wizard saved our company a lot of time this year. Not only was Namely able to implement this feature for us in a short amount of time, they quickly worked with our broker to set up all necessary carrier feeds. The interface is also very user friendly for our colleagues, similar to Facebook. They are able to edit their profile, request time off, view company holiday and do their performance review all in one place.

What could be improved about this product?

If something could be improved it would be adding an e-signature feature to make the on-boarding process paperless or for us, not having to use another vendor for esignature purposes. I hear this is in the works and hope to see it available to Namely users soon. It would also be nice if the new feed was more interactive. You cannot tag anyone in a post, nor do you get notified if someone comments on your post. It’s more of a general posting area.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Namely is such a new product, implementing everything due to the time crunch we were on for open enrollment, carrier feed connections and wondering if Namely would be able to integrate with our other systems was a concern. Although we had some bumps throughout the process we were able to use the benefit wizard for 2016 open enrollment.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Our biggest tackle was the benefit wizard. Having all of our information housed in one location and feeds being sent directly to our health care providers has really helped our process. Also providing a 360 performance review was really important for our company for the year 2016.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Joy D.

Springthrough


Namely Review

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 10, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

For our employees, it is very easy to navigate and to use. The social aspect of the newsfeed is engaging and allows us to reach our team members easily with quick messages or reminders.

What could be improved about this product?

The calendar function is lacking in that only certain events are able to be published for viewing. If there was more customization available to allow the employer to choose what types of events can be added to the view, that would be helpful.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Our biggest concern about selecting Namely was whether or not the payroll functionality was robust enough to remove some of the manual steps we were taking to manage payroll.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We were trying to minimize the platforms we were using to house/store all the information that we are now using Namely to manage. It is much more efficient for our employees and easier to manage from the administrative side. Additionally, we have significantly reduced the number of manual steps we are taking as well as the number of people that are needed to execute many of the tasks we are now using Namely to manage.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Shane M.

Central Oklahoma Family Medical Center, Inc.


Namely: Flexible and Powerful

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on December 2, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Namely has a user interface much like Facebook. For this reason, employees picked up on its navigation with ease. It is simple, elegant, and powerful.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see a corporate email integration with calendar sharing and some type of share point option.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

My main concern was that the company was very new, but once we dove into the platform they had it down to a science. We are very pleased with the ease of use and the powerful reporting tools. We love that Namely has both an HR and Pay platform that integrate effortlessly.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Employees love this product. Complaints have gone down from the previous platform we used. Evaluations are now automated, time off is automated, time cards are automated. Reports are a breeze.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Katie V.

Imprezzio


Flexible HRIS

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 24, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

After in-depth research of 5 HRIS systems, Namely was the chosen one. The flexibility was the turning point for my company. The platform is very flexible and user friendly so we were able to get up and running in an accelerated time frame.

What could be improved about this product?

Moving the survey capability out of performance reviews.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

ROI. An HRIS is a big investment; and at the end of the day it all comes down to return on investment. Time savings and visibility to the employee’s performance have paid off!

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

– Performance Review
-Goal Management
-Onboarding

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Laura L.

Distil Networks


All-in-one Life Saver

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 23, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

The on-boarding process. I was managing onboarding and employee info with google docs and it was unmanageable. I had to have a doc to keep track of if I had updated all my others! I’ve automated this now. We are also going through open enrollment with Namely for our new insurance plan year as well as implementing payroll in 2016. I am excited to have all of this together so there are no longer 20 email chains about payroll updates, insurance enrollment, bonuses, raises etc.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see the on-boarding feature added to. It is great to get the employees basic information, but I want it to also tie to payroll/benefits so the new employee walks through enrollment when they first begin. The ATS integration is also not very good. It is simply a webhook that puts the most basic of basic information into an employee profile and completely skips the on-boarding feature process.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The cost justifying the product. It took a lot of diligence to convince management that this was the right product vs. all the rest. Although we have only been on a month, so far we haven’t disappointed, but it is still a concern as we expand our product usage.

Also, as we kick off the entire product suite, there will be concerns about everything integrating and communicating properly so as not to cause incorrect pay, benefits, etc…

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Getting rid of our archaic, manual employee tracking process! We are also really making this an all in one for employees so this is where they will go for everything (benefits, performance management, payroll, etc…) instead of being bounced from person to person to get the information they are looking for.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Kristin W.

Revinate, Inc.


HR without the headache!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 13, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

I can manage HR for 130 essentially on my own. It is easy of use, everything is in one place, I can make changes on the backend. Benefits enrollment is seamless once it’s setup correctly. You can customize so much it’s sometimes daunting, but once you get the hang of it you want more functionality around customization!

What could be improved about this product?

Payroll and benefits need a facelift, but they work. Need to improve time cards. Namely is growing so fast I don’t know if they understand the power of some of their features so they don’t communicate it too well.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We were worried since it was a new product and our team and managers are not used to using an HRIS. We were also eliminating a lot of systems at one time to move to Namely so it had to be seamless.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Reporting, managers own more of the data, Org Charts, benefits connect directly to payroll (honestly you should buy a product like this for that reason alone). I’ve eliminated updating excel spreadsheets, excel time cards, managers emailing about compensation information, updating mailing addressing, manually tracking birthdays, and review dates and so much more.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Laura P.

SnapRetail


Namely makes me look like an HR rockstar!!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on October 27, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

What I like best about Namely is the workflow automation which allows employees and manager to self-service any changes that they have for themselves for their teams. Any change they input into a workflow automatically flows to payroll which makes my life (and theirs) a lot easier. It truly is an end-to-end HR solution.

What could be improved about this product?

My suggestions for Namely are pretty small, and include adding some additional functionality to onboarding (allowing employees to fill out tax forms and direct deposit online) and making the company feed on the homepage more interactive.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

My main concern was whether or not the system could do everything that they claimed they could, and they have exceeded our expectations across the board! I would make the decision to buy Namely over and over again.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We had zero automation in the HR part of our business, so Namely helped us with PTO automation, giving employees access to paystubs, and benefits management and open enrollment automation.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Jennifer L.

First Beat Media


Overall happy with Namely HRIS and Payroll

Overall4
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
4 Reviewed on October 15, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Namely is extremely easy to use. When we first started using this product, our staff had no issues with how to navigate through the system.

What could be improved about this product?

We have had 3 account reps so far and the transition between reps was not as smooth as I would have hoped.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

That it would be worth the price…prior to namely we used an internal system for HRIS.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

The reports feature is very intuitive. We are able to meet several business needs using the reports feature. We also really like the newsfeed. We have an international staff and use the newsfeed to wish each other happy birthdays, anniversaries, etc.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Lauren L.

ShowClix, Inc.


Game Changing Product, Exceptional support!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on October 9, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Namely has been instrumental in taking our HR department to an elevated level in managing data, engaging our employees, and taking us from a purely paper process for conducting employee performance reviews to an entirely automated system. The best park about this platform is the fact that it combines Performance Reviews, PTO Management, Payroll, Benefits, all into one system that works seamlessly with each other.

What could be improved about this product?

Being a new company, there has been a few bugs that we have run into while using the system but it never has been anything major and it was always handled in a timely fashion.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

When deciding to use Namely it was important to have one system that all works together. Value was also a major factor, were we getting a quality system for the price we were committing to? Lastly, exceptional customer support and service was important, we wanted to know if we had an issue would we have a direct line of contact with our account manager who would help us solve this problem. Namely has more than delivered on these items for us.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are more accurately managing our HR data and department with the use of Namely, it has been an amazing tool that our executives, managers, and employees alike, feel comfortable using and it allows them to be engaged in the system.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Kevin J.

Springthrough


Great Product!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 29, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

We are a small company that has historically been pretty manual in the way our HR functioned. A simple, automated tool that integrates with our payroll function has been fantastic!

What could be improved about this product?

Our implementation had some bumps. We could have used more structure and guidance from Namely during that process.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

For us it was cost. Like I mentioned, we are small and the idea of making an investment like this was not taken lightly.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Erin C.

Springthrough Consulting


Namely Review

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 22, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

The thing I like most about this product is the support Namely Support can give, they are always available when we need them and always have quick responses.

What could be improved about this product?

Internal events calendar would be very helpful for a company that likes to socialize.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was not involved in buying this software.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We have greatly improved on our performance review structure.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Christine N.

The Motley Fool


Absolutely Love Namely!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 4, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

I love how easy it is to customize Namely. I can create as many data fields as I need, create as many access levels as I need, and create as many reports as I need.

What could be improved about this product?

Only because our company likes to do things differently, it would be interesting to be able to choose and customize different views for the Org Chart.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Our main concern was that Namely was so new. We were concerned about doing implementation and then, maybe having to move to another company if Namely did not stay around. But, it was so worth the risk as it looks like Namely will be around for a long, long time. 🙂

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Ryan H.

Optimizely


The world of HR Technology better keep an eye on Namely!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 3, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

The UI is clean, modern, and user-friendly for general profile data, comp data, etc.
My company is most excited about the directory and org chart features – and the ability to drill into teams or individual records from each. My favorite thing is how much opportunity they still have ahead of them – and they are chomping at the bit to continue improving and delivering solutions.

What could be improved about this product?

The reporting capabilities are a bit limited, but there are some changes coming soon – I\’m hopeful for big improvements there. Also, the UI around manager and employee self-service workflows could stand a UX refresh. They\’re a bit clunky and confusing today.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

It\’s a relatively new system – will it live up to the hype and promises? (so far, yes!)

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We were running spreadsheets to control and manage data at our startup. But in the past 18 months, we\’ve gone from 150 to 400 employees and spreadsheets were no longer sustainable. Plus, we had no way to share directory or org chart information – which a lot of people were really aching for!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Steven C.

Campaign Monitor


Finally a SaaS that gets it!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on September 3, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Namely nailed it, making an HRIS UX both functional, easy to use, and sexy (yes, a sexy HRIS).

What could be improved about this product?

Namely is continually adding enhancements to their platform. I’m most looking forward to the full integration of payroll within the HRIS system

What was your main concern about buying this software?

As I wasn’t familiar with the product I was a little hesitant, however after using it for several months now I can confidently say I’m in love with it. It gives the big guys a run for their money!

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Namely centralizes global data for our business, bringing together, performance management, benefit enrollment, on-boarding, and payroll – all in one easy to use and administer platform.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Mike C.

Victory Marketing Agency


Namely has made HR Tech accessible and FUN!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 1, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

My favorite feature of Namely is easily the design and functionality. The “social-media…esque” feel of Namely makes it very easy to use, and our people (who are primarily Millenials) engage with it. Companies spend so much on technology that never gets used, and Namely combats this perfectly with it’s smooth UI/UX. Finally, it’s also very powerful, i.e., meaning that it doesn’t lose functionality nor reporting capabilities due to it’s ease of use. Namely to HR is akin to Tesla to Automotive!

What could be improved about this product?

I honestly don’t have any feedback regarding problems with Namely. Implementation is a big project with any SaaS, so it was still tough with Namely, however the Client Service Delivery team was AMAZING!!!!! Namely’s customer service is like Zappos – I can just email my Account Manager on the fly and ask any number of questions, and he gets back to me almost immediately without fail.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

It’s a little pricey compared to the competition in the SMB HRIS/MRM space – BUT, you get what you pay for and that adage is totally true for Namely. I was concerned that my senior exec team would want to save and go with one of the less expensive competitors, but in the end they saw the value add for all of Namely’s awesomeness, i.e., integrated solutions for payroll, benefits admin, personal and organizational goals, and performance management.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Our company has grown substantially in the last year, and we wanted to set up a solid HRIS foundation to support future growth. Namely has allowed us to keep all HR data centralized and secure, while also automating our performance review cycle. Namely truly support my role as an HR Department of ONE! So I might be pretty biased 😉

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Heather N.

TechnologyAdvice


Great, modern software that is a game changer for HR

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on August 31, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Namely has found a way to integrate a number of key resources for employees into a format that is great for a small-and-growing company. While large enterprise software offers all the bells and whistles, that’s not what every company needs. Namely’s high-touch client success team is also a huge asset, especially when handling payroll.

What could be improved about this product?

The only thing I could say as a con or a dislike is that they haven’t built an ATS and a learning portal! I know, I know they’re just getting started. Seriously hard to find anything that I dislike about this great software.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Employee buy in – for the money investment I wanted to know that employees would actually go to the site and use it. I was a big advocate in on-boarding our team and getting them adjusted to using this system.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Time saving for all aspects of HR. Payroll admin, PTO, performance reviews, historical information on employees, reporting (insane reporting!) and soon-to-be benefits. It’s all right there. It’s also evident that the company is on the up-swing – incredible growth, a new round of funding, and innovative marketing and communication.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review.


Product Quick Facts
Industry Specialties
All Industries
Pricing
Average

Screenshots


Forbes_screens_03performanceForbes_screens_01homeForbes_screens_07reportsForbes_screens_04calendar

Video