Get answers to your technology questions now

615.610.1770
Product Quick Facts
Industry Specialties
Healthcare
Pricing
Low-end
Works Best For
Small Sized Businesses

Integrates With

  • Amazing Charts
  • Backchart
  • Chart Logic
  • digiChart
  • Integrity EMR
  • Nexus Clinical
  • Practice Fusion
  • WebPT

Practice Specialties

  • Allergy / Immunology
  • Alternative / Holistic Medicine
  • Cardiology
  • Chiropractic
  • Community Health
  • Cosmetic / Plastic Surgery
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Endocrinology
  • Family Medicine
  • Gastroenterology
  • General Surgery
  • Internal Medicine
  • Mental and Behavioral Health
  • Multi-specialty
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology / Neurosurgery
  • Nursing
  • OB/GYN & Women's Health
  • Occupational Medicine
  • Oncology / Hematology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Optometry
  • Orthopedics
  • Otolaryngology (ENT)
  • Pain Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Physical Therapy
  • Podiatry
  • Primary Care
  • Pulmonology
  • Radiology
  • Rehabilitation
  • Rheumatology
  • Sleep Medicine
  • Speech Pathology
  • Urgent Care
  • Urology
View More Attributes  

About Kareo

Kareo offers medical practices a cloud-based electronic health record solution paired with award-winning practice and revenue cycle management. Kareo EHR is designed for use by physicians in an outpatient setting and is qualified to help medical practices earn Meaningful Use attestation. Kareo EHR’s appeal lies in its affordability, usefulness and mobile capabilities. 

Kareo EHR includes dynamic patient, document and medication management functions. The patient registration and scheduling features automate the process of completing intake and follow-up procedures. Through Kareo’s dashboard, medical staff can monitor patient appointments, approve refill requests and review lab results. Kareo includes a patient portal and health education features, providing patients access to their medical information and health information, which is required for Meaningful Use Stages 2 and 3. This product’s documentation management function allows physicians, nurses and medical support staff to capture patient encounter information accurately and efficiently. Kareo increases staff-wide productivity with voice recognition capabilities, 100+ note templates and free text options. Kareo is also compatible with the iPad, which allows physicians to mobilize patient care within a practice and increase patient engagement during encounters.

Kareo has helped many clinicians improve their practice by increasing productivity, reducing task duplication and improving patient satisfaction rates. One of Kareo’s customers, Dr. Sharon McCoy-George of California, needed to implement an electronic health record solution that was compatible with her iPad and Apple computers. Since Dr. McCoy-George travels often, she chose Kareo’s cloud-based program. As a result of implementing Kareo EHR, Dr. McCoy-George is able to efficiently manage patient records in a secure, portable and cost-effective manner, regardless of her location.

Have questions about Kareo? Want to find out more about medical software? Call, click, or email to speak with an unbiased Technology Advisor for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation on your unique requirements. 

(Last updated on 06/22/2016)

Screenshots


kareo_insurance_collectionskareo_daily_agendakareo_billing_reportskareo_calendar

Kareo User Reviews

Average User Rating

5 star:
30
4 star:
5
3 star:
4
2 star:
2
1 star:
1

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review


Lisa H.

Southern Maryland Dietitian


RD Private Practice

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on April 7, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

Great training and ongoing support. I always get my questions answered and don’t have long wait times. Reps are friendly and helpful.

What could be improved about this product?

Would like it to be cloud based rather than windows based. I didn’t realize this when I signed up

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I had to install Parallels and Windows on my mac book pro — now it is slower. I didn’t realize this so I was upset having to run to Best Buy and taking on extra cost

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Great platform for billing and patient accounts

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Toriano D.

Dewberry Medical


Kareo is a "bargain" for a reason

Overall3
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
3 Reviewed on January 26, 2017

What do you like best about this product?

some of the support staff go above and beyond to help. Unfortunately it is 1 employee in 5
I have received several calls and emails asking how likely we are to recommend Kareo’s services.
Kareo advertises well.

What could be improved about this product?

customer support
continuity of service
Slow to return calls and emails (usually a 2 day wait)
The staff seems more eager to have you sign up and is quick to promise but slow to solve problems.
THere is a lack of cross training.
I was told that I could not even be advised about starting until we were signed up (no worries, there would be no billing until after my company was credentialed) or so I was told. We not only received a bill for billing services, we were charged for 3 other items that were later deemed as incorrect billing. When I called and emailed the rep (repeatedly for an $1100 bill) I was told by Roberta (“I do not handle billing. Contact accounting”) that was the entire email. I explained everything to the accounting rep and was told “you should read your contract” $299 is mistakenly on but you still owe $750 for billing. Mind you I had not been credentialled yet. Over one week later this issue was resolved. I had to go through several people to get this done. I was eventually told that the original representative should have put a hold on my account. The rep that walked me through this process was helpful and knowledgable. After dealing with her we signed. I was happy that we were able to clear up the bill and seeing as there were over a dozen hours of tutorials and conversations invested this seemed logical. The next call was from the original sales rep Roberta who failed to return any of my correspondence during that month of chaos. She acted as though nothing had happened. No big. I felt that she had proven to be ineffective and I asked for a new contact. I was put in the hands of a capable rep Tenae who (through many issues on kareo’s side) helped me to get started. I was transferred to a billing team afterwards. Since then I have had 1 meeting where the system didn’t have us able to bill, tec support took about 4 days to get back to me (understandable), and big surprise, my rep missed the meeting yesterday and has not returned my call or email.

I fear at this rate legal action will have to be taken because we do not pay for services not rendered. I just want out of this crazy situation. **I do own a mobile practice so maybe this has caused problems. ** However, I have yet to be able to bill. This is an issue because some insurances require you to submit billing w/i 90 days or they don’t pay. So I may not be paid on some things

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Kareo’s flaws may prevent my company from being able to make the 90 day billing submission window

So my company may lose thousands of dollars. We may end up paying another company for billing and EHR services and starting over again.

I do not like writing bad reviews. I believe that on occasion bad service will occur. But this affects me, employees, and patients. Dewberry Med provides services to children who would otherwise not receive health and vision services.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I signed up with Kareo to handle billing. Since the system is full if hiccups, we may not get paid on over 200 patients. We have rescheduled, cancelled, and referred patients to other doctors and clinics, and this is revenue that we may never recoup.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

0/10

Deanna G.

Comprehensive Care Medical


Easy billing

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 19, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The easy use of software and how you can show other people how to use.

What could be improved about this product?

I think they could impove the eft side of this product.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The cost was my doctor’s biggest concern and it reasonable.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Benefits totally out weigh the flaws of this program.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Jason-Tina B.

Doctors Clinic


KAREO REVIEW

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 7, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I love that it is easy to learn and toggle between tasks. I also love all the reports you can run with it The call reminders. Being cloud based is great as well.

What could be improved about this product?

They need to at least have either the doctors name or Office name at the beginning of the message

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Changing everything over from old software and making sure everyone would be able to learn the new software.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Shelley G.

Danielle E Weiss MD


Billing practice mgmnt review

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 20, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Ease of use & large variety of reports that are customizable. Support staff is almost always available.

What could be improved about this product?

Two things:
1. Date scroll through payments
2. Sometimes you need to delete a payment, or make a correction or re-apply it. You can\’t delete a payment without deleting important transaction history. This is one of the biggest things I would change. Also when I have to write a refund, I can\’t delete the payment from the application, once applied, so I can’t use the “refund feature”- please fix this.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was not there when they purchased it, so I can’t add anything here. We do like that you have the statement service with mail check feature w postal service.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Great for AR reports and collection data. we watch these carefully. Also the claims reports are helpful to watch any aging claims that need attention.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Debbie J.

Turner Physical Therapy & Scoliosis Center


Technology Advice Review

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on November 3, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Kareo’s billing system is compatible with our EHR software so all relevant information about our patients automatically populates in Kareo. The feature of the billing and payment components of this software are easy to understand and the customer support when payment issues arise is exceptional.

What could be improved about this product?

I need to better understand how the reports work and would like some free webinars or short videos that can explain how to access or filter certain reports.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

There were no concerns to the best of my knowledge. The owner/doctor of the practice did her homework and selected Kareo based on its compatibility with our EHR software.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

The features in the billing & payment components of this software help us stay on top of all our claims, payments and any outstanding balances. I also believe that their customer service arm is exceptional. The reps are professional, friendly and able to provide solutions to most of my posting concerns.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Devon R.

Craft


Kareo

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on October 20, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I really like how compatible Kareo and Kareo EMR is. It makes keeping track of the billing and insurance much easier.

What could be improved about this product?

The Kareo billing is a little difficult to read. However, once you learn what to look for it is not difficult.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Benefits: With Kareo and Kareo EMR is makes keeping track of the money MUCH easier. I am able to see if a patient has a past due balance or not when checking them in for an appointment. I also love how Kareo EMR can verify if a patient’s insurance is eligible with a click of a button!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Ivana G.

The Faces of HOPE


Technology Advice

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on October 18, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The site is very user friendly and easy to understand

What could be improved about this product?

We don’t have any improvements at this time

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We didn’t have any concerns with trying the software

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Being able to see patient balances right away

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Sharla W.

Cutting Edge Physical Therapy


Great Billing Software

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on October 13, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I really like how easy it is to use. I am new to medical billing and this software made it easy for me.

What could be improved about this product?

You could add a few filters to some of the reports, so you could exclude or subtotal certain categories.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I didn’t have any concerns. I did my research and found lots of good reviews about it.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

It helps us keep track of how much money our referral doctors are bringing to us and where we need to market better.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Aldo S.

MFNC


Good EHR

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 16, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Easy to learn and use. Intuitive. Up and running in one day.

What could be improved about this product?

Some of the functionality. There are some minor bugs which still need to be addressed.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Whether or not it would suit our needs and it works just fine.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Very cost effective. Meeting our EHR needs as well as many others internally in record keeping.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Shelley G.

Center for Hormonal Health & Well-Being


Kareo Practice Management

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on September 6, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

User friendly. The unapplied money shows up in the patient balance.

What could be improved about this product?

Having the ablity to scroll back and forth in the calendar rather than enter the dates. There is a daily report, but I just want to quickly scroll through the dates. This is one feature that would be nice, at least for me to quickly check to be sure all money is posted daily. The reps are very knowledgeable and willing to help you in most cases, except for one issue when I wanted to sign up for ERA’s. It was not clear to me that there was a deadline and he closed my case before I faxed the forms. If he could have extended the timing, it would have helped- I also work in a different office, so I am not able to get doctor’s signature immediately, and we were in the middle of integrating at the time. Also- your integration with P. Fusion- could be improved. The other systems PFusion integrates with are not so difficult with every character matching, etc., and this has been hard for our office. It is still new, so hopefully it will get easier. another thing I thought of- there are occasions where you have to delete or change a payment, and if you enter this before the insurance EOB comes in, and you find you need to change it, or apply some of this to another date of service, you can’t easily delete payment information once it has been applied to a visit without having to delete all the claims data. This is unfortunate. I did speak with a rep who showed me how to copy the messages and re post in notes, but this is cumbersome if there are a lot of transactions. okay, I think that is enough feedback for today. I do love Kareo!

What was your main concern about buying this software?

sorry- n/a. I came to an office that already had kareo. I can’t answer here.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

up to date AR information is available is up to date and the billing is easy.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Melissa W.

Essential Medical


Kareo

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on September 1, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I like how easy it is to use Kareo. I also like that it is easy to get in touch with technical support.

What could be improved about this product?

Technical support could be a little bit more knowledgeable about how a medical practice works which would help to make things run smoother

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We were concerned about ease of use. That has not been a problem Kareo is very easy to use.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Correct coding and billing concerns. Kareo has tools to help so I am hoping to begin using those.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Raymon A.

Irvin Medical Claims & Services


Satisfied

Overall4
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
4 Reviewed on August 31, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The PM side makes billing Simple, Efficient and minimizes Denials / Rejections. The EHR side is not very Podiatry friendly and Lacks Podiatry related Templates. I had to custom build all of them on my own. However , After That they function well! 🙂 And create a strong note in Narrative form. Which many other Softwares do not.

What could be improved about this product?

Template customization needs improvement. Some of the Categories and Child Types are not functional nor can I include procedures in my SOAP note without going to a separate “Procedures” template.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Ease of use with the EHR. Generating Accurate(Coding) Encounter Forms based on Documentation in the Note.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Billing requires less time and is more effective. Generating SOAP Notes for visits take less time. I am really impressed with the “SALT” feature.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

facebook

Wee Care Pediatrics


Simple and easy to use

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on August 30, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Kareo is easy to use without a complicated layout. It is very reliable and doesn\’t have many technical issues to it. We also use a free EMR for our charting and progress notes (we use Kareo for our Practice Management) and the free EMR has a lot of interruptions and technical issues. It runs very slow and well, you get what you pay for. Kareo has very few issues like this and has seemed to be very dependable.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see more features included in the base price. You can pay for more “bells and whistles” but I feel more of these features should be included in the price. There are other EMR’s out there that are free and have more features but have many issues and interruptions. We run into more technical issues during the day when it is the most crucial time to have dependable software. Kareo never lets us down. You get what you pay for!

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was concerned with having to pay for patient statements. I’ve learned that the cost is not as high as I expected. You do have to be careful with scanning documents into patient charts, you only get a certain amount of space per month and after that, you pay for overages. If you have a large file to scan in, just scan as a pdf and always black and white and it will help keep space and cost down. The awesome thing about the scan feature is that it includes a twain driver so you can scan directly into the patients file vs scanning then attaching the document to the patients chart.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Patient balances and collections are always a concern with our office. I really like the addition of the online payment option for patients to pay their balances (we use Kareo Practice Management). This feature is really cool because patients dont have to create a user name and login, they get a one time activation code in the account statement. The simply go to the web address provided and enter in the 16 digit code. It will then bring up their name and account balance with an option to pay their bill. I love t his because it doesn’t require yet another password to remember. This greatly increases our patient collections.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Ashley W.

A L Wagner Family Chiropractic PC


Kareo is an excellent company to work with.

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on August 16, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

It is very user friendly, affordable, and has amazing customer service.

What could be improved about this product?

The only change I would like to see is the ability to see/apply copays from the appointment scheduling/check-in screen.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Scott M.

Today Clinic


Easy to use software and excellent service!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 27, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Easy to learn, easy to train others how to use. Simple but more than adequate for a family practice. Working with the support department has always been productive.

What could be improved about this product?

Would be great to be able to print prescriptions from the mobile app. Also would be helpful to be able to review the Kareo superbills based on provider or location.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Had been using the PM software for a long time but was new to the EHR. Was nervous about the transition but it was easy. Was also worried about the integration between the Kareo products but so far that has been smooth.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

An AR that has been difficult to manage. Kareo has worked hard to provide options that will help work through the AR challenges.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Yves C.

Optimal Of Rockland ventures


Horrible Service

Overall2
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
2 Reviewed on July 14, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The people know how to sell their products. I like the EMR system.

What could be improved about this product?

Almost everything needs improvement. The customer’s support is horrific and their services are nightmares. Your coach person is hard to get in touch with. You have to leave 3-4 emails before someone responds to you, to tell you that your coach and your credential personal are no longer with the company. You pay a monthly service fee for this company to do your billing when in fact nothing is getting done. Frustration is all you get from them, while bind in a contract you can do nothing about it.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Nothing would be done for my billing, while I am paying $600 a month.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

No problems are being solved and no benefits have been seen.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

0/10

Angela P.

Automated Billing & Consulting Services


Super User Friendly

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 12, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

It is a very user friendly software with a pretty smart flow.

What could be improved about this product?

Not crazy about the ways to correct and resubmit claims, especially if patient gave wrong or old insurance information. Also not crazy about their reports. Too shallow and, although they offer free training (which I love) they do not offer any training JUST for reports. Hoping they see this and can rectify.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Have not bought it but use it for clients

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Claims management. Trying to figure out the reporting section of the software has not been easy and need assistance that is currently not offered.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Jolene S.

Spier Physical Therapy


We love Kareo!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on July 11, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The ease of using it and all that is available through Kareo! From reports to knowing our A/R balance at all times.

What could be improved about this product?

Making sure that everything always bills through without problems. Occasionally we do have this problem but your company is very good about fixing it as fast as possible.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Our main concern was if it would be easy to use and have everything we needed for Billing.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are always trying to keep every account caught up which is always a challenge! We do seem to be getting better at staying caught up and constantly running reports to be sure that accounts are caught up.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Alysha D.

Endeavor Rehab Center


Simple, Effective and Worth it

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 6, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I love that there is so many different reports you can run to see where and how the A/R levels are and where you need to focus to fix the problems

What could be improved about this product?

I wish it had an internal messaging system

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I don’ t think I had any concerns with this software other than the normal “how well is this going to work for our company” feeling

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

claim status, A/R aging. I love that it gives you the payment velocity and other stats of the business on the home screen. It’s very cool and useful

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Wendy T.

Urgent Medical Care


If you're looking for an amazing All-in-One for your practice...Look no Further!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 29, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Kareo PM is the easiest, most user-friendly program that I have used in 10+ years in billing.

What could be improved about this product?

Technology is ever changing and Kareo understands that. They listen to their users and if there is something that needs improving, they will look at doing just that. Personally, I don\’t have any improvement suggestions at this time.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

With an MD and six mid-level providers, at first it was the price, but they offer a discount for them and they are competitive with the industry standard.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are getting ready to work on contract negotiations with our payers and the report options are endless. It’s allowing us to have the information that we need to isolate our payers and per procedure payments before we negotiate!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Melissa B.

Physicians Ancillary Services


Makes Medical Billing Easy!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 28, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The interface is user-friendly and can be accessed through the website login, or the PM can be downloaded and used on a computer.

What could be improved about this product?

I like pretty much everything about the product, but what I’m not a huge fan of is the customer service. Depending on the time of day, you can spend a lot of time on hold.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Whether or not we would be able to successfully bill our claims. We still have issues with BCBS (who doesn’t…), but that has absolutely nothing to do with Kareo, but rather has everything to with BCBS.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We’ve been able to start billing our own claims rather than using a billing service.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Dana H.

Eagle Rehab


Making my billing issues easier!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on June 28, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The software is very user friendly and has lots of training videos to make learning faster.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see more date ranges offered on the reports. If patients need receipts and detailed reports and have several different cases it becomes tricky to get them the specific information they need.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Making sure that it handled everything we needed on a daily basis and it has done a great job.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Being able to easily access claims that have been rejected or denied for quick fix and re-submission.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Karen W.

Pain and Wellness Clinic/ The Children\'s Clinic


Kareo Software

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 24, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I have been in healthcare for over 23 years, Kareo is by far the easiest software to learn and use.

What could be improved about this product?

I would love to be able to pull a report listing the Insurance company and what patients have that insurance

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was not working here when the company signed up so I do not know

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I have really found the A/R reports are very helpful

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Michelle U.

Northern Colorado Therapy Services


You don't have to be a "biller" to learn this software

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 22, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

It supports incoming information provided by insurance companies, reducing the time required to manually input data.

What could be improved about this product?

Help articles are provided, however I occasionally bump into detailed issues that are not covered (ex. how to create a refund after receiving an overpayment notice, when the initial payment has already been posted).

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Whether I could learn it or not. I have NO prior experience with billing. I am happy to say I handle all of my own private practice billing at this point, for both myself and my OT employee.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I am learning to “chase down” missing and denied payments from insurance companies, allowing me to recover income that otherwise might fall through the cracks.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Melinda J.

The Doctors Clinic


Kareo

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on June 16, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

User friendly, and the support team are always ready to help.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see reminders if possible.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The price was our biggest concern, but after reviewing other software Kareo stood out.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Receivables have increased. We receive our insurance payments faster.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Donna T.

Endeavor Rehab Center


Easy to Use

Overall4
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
4 Reviewed on June 16, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

User friendly and how easy it is to bill and reconcile.

What could be improved about this product?

Pricing especially when we have to purchase a license for each user even if they are part-time help.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Price and learning a new billing software.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Better turn around time for claims to get paid and also a better tracking system.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

8/10

Alba J.

Pro-Claim Reimbursement Solutions, LLC


We love Kareo

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on June 15, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I like that Kareo is User Friendly and your able to keep your notes under each encounters. Having many clients and Claim to keep track of, this offers us the ability to see whats been going on with the claim even if it’s our first time touching it.

What could be improved about this product?

The follow-up. There is a function where we can set a f/up but once set to the date, we don’t get a reminder and have to resort to using a spreadsheet.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I don’t have any concerns about the software that would make me not recommend to others.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I have seen a large increase in my Clients AR since using Kareo. They also notice that the same as Kareo offers transparency to them!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

BONNIE D.

Associated Family Practice


I Love Kareo!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on June 15, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

This system is awesome! It is user friendly. on the rare occasion that I need help with a report the friendly help center is there to answer any questions I may have.

What could be improved about this product?

I can’t think of anything that needs to be improved. In my 5 years of using the system it has done everything I needed to to do.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was afraid to learn to use the software via webinars. But I quickly learned all the ins and outs of the software. and whenever I had a question Kareo support was there to help me.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Kareo made our transition to ICD-10 so easy! We had no issues due to all the support Kareo gave us!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Jenee K.

Advance Sports and Spine Therapy


A good choice

Overall3
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
3 Reviewed on June 10, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

We are a small PT office with about 8 PT’s. Kareo implements well with WebPt. Kareo is user friendly and easy to set-up.

What could be improved about this product?

There is always things that can be improved. Report customization options and pt statements would be the thing that I feel would be beneficial to so many users.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We had, had bad experiences with 2 other software’s and was really worried about switching to again something new. It has been 5 yrs and we are glad we did. It is a little expensive.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

It doesn’t take long to get paid on most payers as the process of sending electronic payments is easy.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Kristi W.

Essential Medical


Great product for my solo practice

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 9, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

I was able to get it up and running by myself very easily. The support I got as I started using it was invaluable.

What could be improved about this product?

There have a been a couple of issues with interfacing with outside products, but Kareo was, for the most part, attentive to trying to help bridge this.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I wanted to be sure that the money I was spending was giving me the most value. I believe this is true after seeing what else is out there.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Billing is a breeze. We are able to complete this daily and therefore our reimbursement time is awesome.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Susan S.

The Speech Emporium


Billing software

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 9, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Being new to billing, this software was a lifesaver. It is so easy to use.

What could be improved about this product?

I would like to see more versatility in the reports.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We really didn’t have many concerns. The step by step instructions were easy to follow.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

It has made keeping up with our outstanding accounts much easier. We are able to keep a handle on our receivables and make collections much faster. Our turn around on claims is very fast.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Christopher G.

Varsity Omega Rehab


Great Program for running a small practice

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on June 8, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

So user friendly and easy to use. It keeps a series of checks and balance so you don’t miss anything.

What could be improved about this product?

The way you can enter patient payments and apply them forward.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I did not have a concern. From the demo and step by step use, it was easy to get into

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Keeping a better flow of claims. Able to work faster in processing.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Doug J.

Sports & Wellness Physical Therapy


Great Product

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 7, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

Fairly easy to use, with some training and experience.

What could be improved about this product?

Some of the exact reports that our office would like aren’t available, but I’m being picky.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was worried that it was going to hard to learn… I was wrong.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We brought our billing in house with this software. Its quick and simply to send out our daily claims.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Louis S.

Marc A Saltzman MD


Nice Practice Management software

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on June 7, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

As a long time user I am happy with the support and the upgrades that the system uses.

What could be improved about this product?

They could support a larger the number of insurance companies accepting electronic claims submission.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I have not had any concerns about using this system

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

The system has helped our business as we are a small practice

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

CPS I.

CPS


A terrible company

Overall2
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
2 Reviewed on February 24, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

The free EMR is good – you can create your own templates specific to your own practice and specialty.

What could be improved about this product?

The customer service and billing components are horrid. These people don’t answer their phones. Oh sure, they’ll answer them for the first couple weeks, and then your account manager will suddenly “no longer be with the company.” Because you’ll be trying to reach that person, it will take you about a month or more to figure that out. Then you’ll let someone know, and they’ll make promises. Then it will happen again. And again. And again. All the while, mind you, they’re charging you for their “services”, but they’re not actually billing for you. No, they’re just taking your 6% or at least $600 to do nothing per month. Then you’ll argue with them for months, and they’ll have you fax in all your superbills and they’ll swear they’ll do the billing that way until they can figure out what’s going on. Until they never do anything. And you’ll get mad and call them again, and not get anywhere. You’ll try calling the sales people, and they’ll place you in their own vortex of hell, again making promises. Somewhere along the way you’ll discover their Facebook page, where you see there are a lot of other people out there who are also mad at them, and you’ll consider a class action law suit. And you tell the Kareo big wigs about your thoughts. And then maybe they’ll stop billing you every month, again “until we can do our own research into the problem.” Meanwhile they’re hoping you just get frustrated and you go away, so they can continue to just bilk all the other poor sops out there, who are also waiting patiently. Do yourself a favor – try another company. Or just do paper charts and have your own company do your billing – it’s easier than you think.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The EMR is free. But the billing will cost you 6% per month or a minimum of $600 per provider. Save your money – don’t do the billing.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I’ve seen little benefit to their billing. Their free EMR is ok.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

0/10

P. Mark G.

UOHP


Not guaranteed to work

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on February 16, 2016

What do you like best about this product?

They market very well and salespeople tell you what you want to hear.

What could be improved about this product?

This software company refused to guarantee their product. WHen it didn’t work, they couldn’t figure out why. They constantly told me the problem was with Practice FUsion, and Practice fusion said that they were transmitting data to Kareo so it was on Kareo’s end. I didn’t know who to believe, until I cancelled Kareo and instantly integrated using their competitor CollaborateMD

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I don’t mind trying something, but was annoye with their inability to get the software to work and then telling me they don’t guarantee that it will work, culminated by the telling me I was not entitled to two months subscription fee in refund. How does this company stay in business?

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Unfortunately this product failed to deliver on their many promies

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

0/10

Cynthia T.

Whole Family Health Care


Terrible support almost bankrupted me

Overall3
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
3 Reviewed on August 28, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Interface with my EHR is pretty good. Price is decent, but not as low as you describe.

What could be improved about this product?

No support, F/U problems, billing rules, claims tracking. Urgently changing billers, they are so negligent w/ acct. “Acct rep” is now a “pod”; no response 2 calls, emails. ~$100K in >120 day AR in our “no response” category from claims to wrong places or format. This is 25% of my gross; could literally close the doors of my tiny 13 year-old practice. No response to these concerns.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

The software may be a reasonable product, but the people who are servicing it do not know it & know even less about how to work with an individual account; no one is overseeing their performance, either & there is literally no system for problem-solving client concerns at any level, either day-to-day or at the catastrophic level at which we find ourselves.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We had a billing service which stopped providing outsourcing service so we had to replace it. So far, we do have some claims being processed & paid, but even that level of success has highjacked most of my Office Manager’s time & energy, just to keep the basics running.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

0/10

Suzanne J.

Alliance Physical Therapy


Billing

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on January 20, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

I really like how you can easily put claims into \”review\” status if you aren\’t ready to transmit or send them out yet. And the sorting feature and menu bar is excellent to group them different ways according to what you are looking for or working on.

What could be improved about this product?

The Action tab under “FIND CLAIMS” screen needs to have an option to “Set follow-up date” for denied claims like it does for pending or no response claims.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Educating the staff on how to use it but it turned out to be far less complicated than we thought it might be.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We are able to transmit claims as soon as they are ready instead of just once a day. Submitting clean claims is much easier due to the automatic code edit / alerts.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Wendy T.

Urgent Medical Care


Kareo is incredible!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on January 20, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

I love that Kareo is so user friendly and the main platform of this management system is ideal for even the newest of users with none to little experience.

What could be improved about this product?

Honestly, at this time I don’t know what I would change. Kareo is great about consistently listening to its users and making changes that will allow us to me most effective in our businesses.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

We were skeptical about switching to a new practice management system when we have used others in the past and have been unsuccessful in incorporating it into our practice. Kareo has been the best choice that we could have made!

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

We have been watching our average days billed and time that payments are received. The reporting portion of Kareo has been most helpful with this!

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Maria F.

Physical Therapy and Wellness Center


Billing

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on January 20, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

The part that I love about Kareo is the Clearinghouse reports and posting payments.
It is easy and fast!

What could be improved about this product?

The approval Encounters – if we had the availability to divide them per insurance.
I like to approve Medicare on Mondays and Fridays. Private insurance Tuesday and Thursday and Wednesday any paper claims etc. Wish I could segment them.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Need more time learn more about the software.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Dave S.

Maine physical therapy billing


Long time user, still very happy!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on January 20, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

I really enjoy the fact that this company continues to make changes and respond to customer needs, the product is developed very nicely over the last five or six years.

What could be improved about this product?

I would really love to see this system become browser-based.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Monica F.

Acupuncture with Monica


Kareo EHR is a great option for small medical practices in particular

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on January 20, 2015

What do you like best about this product?

Kareo offers a completely free EHR with no strings attached. As the manager and practitioner at my acupuncture office, using Kareo as my EHR allows me to transition seamlessly between two office locations and to always have everything I need to know accessible by my iPad or laptop. I plan to use their Practice Management software too, as my practice expands.

What could be improved about this product?

The app for iPad is very handy but does not have all of the features (such as entering a new patient) available on the website, so it’s important to know when you need to switch between these two versions of the software.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

I was worried about why it is free! I previously used Practice Fusion and was very unhappy to learn that Practice Fusion (another free EHR) was selling my raw data to pharmaceutical companies AND forcing me to look at advertisements on the bottom of my screen. Kareo makes money by hoping to sell you their Practice Management and Billing Services. Their EHR really is free and you are under no obligation to purchase these other options.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Kareo allows me to maintain HIPPA-compliant SOAP notes for my patients that I can access anywhere. I can update my notes from any location I need to, and my patients are free to switch between offices without me worrying about where their paper chart lives. This has made my practice, and having two offices, much easier to handle.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review.


Product Quick Facts
Industry Specialties
Healthcare
Pricing
Low-end
Works Best For
Small Sized Businesses

Screenshots


kareo_insurance_collectionskareo_daily_agendakareo_billing_reportskareo_calendar

Video