Get answers to your technology questions now

615.610.1770
Product Quick Facts
Pricing
Average
Works Best For
Enterprise Businesses, Mid Sized Businesses

About Basecamp

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, with offices in 26 cities around the globe, Basecamp is one of the best-known companies in the project and business management software development field. This privately-owned, debt-free company got its start 15 years ago under the name 37signals, but has since changed its name to match the firm’s most successful product, Basecamp project management software, launched in 2004.  T

Basecamp is web-based and runs in the cloud on the company’s servers. Featuring an intuitive and attractive interface, upgrades and updates are automatic. Basecamp is compatible with nearly every computing format commonly used in the business world today, including PC, Mac,iPhone/iPad, and Android, and it’s also accessible via email. Its Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) delivery means that it can be accessed via an Internet connection anywhere in the world. All the features you’d expect in a well-built project management tool are included, and configuring Basecamp for your specific needs is easy. Additionally, there are a huge number of third-party integrations, apps, and add-ons available for and through Basecamp to further customize the experience to your needs. The company encourages development by making its API readily available, and publishes user-developed and 3rd-party apps. To support its product and users, Basecamp also offers free online classes on a weekly basis, along with regular live question-and-answer sessions. Monthly subscriptions start at $20 per month, with no limit on the number of users—package prices are determined by the number of supported projects and storage space. Basecamp also offers TechnologyAdvice users a 60-day free trial subscription for new users.

The Basecamp project management tool is currently used by more than 285,000 organizations worldwide, with several thousand companies becoming new Basecamp users every week. Designed for and used by organizations of all sizes. Notable Basecamp clients include: Adidas, Etsy, Twitter, NASA, National Geographic, Patagonia, Fox Sports, Kellogg’s, and Nike.

Use the TechnologyAdvice Project Management SmartAdvisor to make project management software comparisons before you buy.

(Last updated on 03/21/2016)

Screenshots


basecamp1basecamp2basecamp3basecamp4

Basecamp User Reviews

Average User Rating

5 star:
8
4 star:
3
3 star:
0
2 star:
0
1 star:
0

Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review


Hanadawrites

Hanada Writes LLC


Project Management Sanity Saver

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 3, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Ease of use, helps me manage multiple clients and projects.

What could be improved about this product?

The price point is a little high and there may be other products out there that are similar for less money but regardless I’m pretty happy with it and the $ doesn’t bother me enough to look for them.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

If it’d help with efficiencies and project management; would it be worth the cost.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

I’m able to manage multiple projects (my business is deadline driven so now I can see deadlines for everyone more clearly); I can assign projects to my associate with ease and see where we are with projects, etc. I can plan better for the future. It definitely has helped me become more productive and efficient.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

9/10

Jason N.

Tekany, LLC


Not a huge fan

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on December 2, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

It’s virtually ubiquitous with people in app dev across many platforms and management styles.

What could be improved about this product?

Flow. The flow is clunky, a “due soon” screen, a simpler work flow in general. My biggest pet peeve is I can’t leave a project once I’ve accepted it. That’s annoying. Sometimes I’m just done with a client/project and want to leave. Forcing me to beg the Project Admin to remove it is lame. It should always be opt-in on both sides.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Facilitate documentation and process for projects.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

Communications with coworkers and clients.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

5/10

Brandon S.

Beymour Consulting


Basecamp is great for project management and team collaboration.

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on November 21, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

In January we started using Basecamp. Basecamp is an extremely effective platform for streamlining projects and workflow. The platform offers a variety of features including to-dos and milestones, which help large teams stay on top of deadlines. Basecamp also lets you choose which specific team members or groups should be included in each project or thread.

What could be improved about this product?

I wouldn’t change much. I think it’s a pretty solid platform.

What was your main concern about buying this software?

Like most larger companies, each department has their own set goals and deadlines, and most projects require input from several different teams. It’s a big office, and our time is limited, so we usually communicate by email. This works to an extent, but the problem is that when multiple teams are collaborating on several different projects, it can be difficult to manage and prioritize projects. The main issue was keeping everyone in the loop.

What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you seen?

The bigger your staff, the more difficult it is to communicate with one another and meet project deadlines. Platforms like Basecamp may not be a substitute for face-to-face meetings, but for day-to-day projects, the collaboration aspect can significantly improve productivity.

How likely would you be to recommend this software to a friend or colleague?

10/10

Reyna R.

Voxeet


Perfect platform for project management and collaboration

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on October 15, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

I handle a lot of projects in my current role and sometimes, it’s hard to manage tasks, ideas, and files in your email. Basecamp helps me keep it all in one place. It’s a great tool for project managers and marketers like myself. You can also message your team members to keep them updated and informed so that everyone is on the same page. In short, Basecamp is the perfect platform for collaboration.


Regin R.

VIPoint solutions


Basecamp always the best

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on September 26, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

I am using Basecamp for past 7 months and I am very much comfortable with it. It helps me to finish my work in the accurate time and the communication with team members with basecamp is good. it helps me to assign or do the job in the easier way. Basecamp is always the best for me and I love it.


Mayjo A.

VIPoint Solutions Pvt Ltd


Advantages of BaseCamp

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on September 23, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Project management platform in Basecamp offers an intuitive suite of tools, It has highly valuable premium features, and the environment that scales well as our business grows. We don’t have to take effort to configure BaseCamp. It Looks great and also performs good. It supports Unlimited users. BaseCamp plays well with our existing technologies.


Pete K.


Never Going Back!

Overall
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
Reviewed on August 7, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

This could NOT be any easier! My thoughts, to-do’s, calendar, and relevant files in one! A project manager’s dream! Seamless integration in mobile platforms to keep track on the go. I have nothing but great things to say about Basecamp.


Aaron P.


A great central project hub

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 28, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

Basecamp has served me well at multiple companies and positions. They’re constantly working to improve it, which I greatly appreciate. The interface is clean and easy for non-technical people to use. It’s feature-rich, and if you want it to be your central hub for project management, document storage, and collaboration and communication, it can do that for you handily.


Deborah D.


Love Using Basecamp

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 17, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

I’ve been using Basecamp for a short period of time as I work for a project as a member of someone else’s team. I’m impressed with the functionality and ability to share information with those involved, and am seriously considering upgrading my account so that I can control some of my own projects through the system. I have used Basecamp’s support system two times today. One was to ask about upgrading an existing account; the other time was to ask about being locked out of my account. Both Tweets (yes, tweets) were answered within minutes and the support ticket I put in for the 2nd problem was answered within minutes as well (and the problem was solved). That’s the sort of customer service I wish every business would offer; and it’s pretty much cemented my decision. They can look for my account upgrade in the next couple of days!


John D.


The best!

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 17, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

I’m located in Kuwait (until August). Half of our team is in Denver and the other half is in New York. As a tool for collaboration between writers and designers, Basecamp is the best project management software there is. And we’ve tried a bunch: Teambox(RedBooth), gtasks, Wrike, ActiveCollab, Central Desktop, Asana, TeamworkPM, Trello, Producteev, Central Desktop, TeamLab, Zoho and Flow. They all lacked the ease of use and capabilities that make Basecamp work so well for us. There is something about Basecamp just makes sense. It flows. The google drive integration makes it easy for our writers and designers to show their progress and receive comments. We schedule our conference calls through Basecamp. Our “moments of genius” often get posted as discussions. One thing that we love to do is create an idea queue and as time becomes available writers and designers can decide what they want to work on next and assign it themselves. The only negative I can fathom giving it is that the pages load slow sometimes… but then again I’m in Kuwait. The success of any PM software depends on its setup and team buy-in. With Basecamp, you get a product that makes it easy and enjoyable to integrate into your daily processes.


Meredith R.


A great collaboration and management tool.

Overall5
Ease of Use
Functionality
Price
Support
5 Reviewed on July 13, 2014

What do you like best about this product?

As a designer, it’s easy to get lost in the to-do’s and schedules set by my Project Manager. Vice versa, it’s easy to overwhelm them with the different variations and explorations that I give them for review. Basecamp is a great tool for collaboration on both ends. My PM can set schedules and tasks that I can see quickly and easily on my dashboard whenever I need a reference. And I can post my designs for review in a project thread and control who gets notified. Especially working in consulting, when our team is alternating between our office and the client’s, it makes off-site collaboration quick, easy, and straightforward. Depending on the how much you use Basecamp, it is possible that the initial project organization can be a little overwhelming, especially if your PM is the one setting up the structure and you’re unfamiliar with it. But that initial confusion would be my only criticism of an otherwise great tool.


Do you use this product?

Share your insight by leaving a review.


Product Quick Facts
Pricing
Average
Works Best For
Enterprise Businesses, Mid Sized Businesses

Screenshots


basecamp1basecamp2basecamp3basecamp4

Video